Like a Nomad

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I Walk the Line.”

Since I was little, my Dad has drilled it in my head that I should never settle. He throws it into every toast, every family gathering, basically any time he has others’ eyes and ears on himself. When I was young, I truly didn’t understand the matter to which my Dad spoke so strongly of. I didn’t understand what it was to settle. Before I go any further, I should mention that his definition of the term may be different than the one that first came to your mind. By settle, he did not mean get married, get a job, and have a family. His definition of settling could be described as falling short of goals, accepting low standards, or “settling for second best.” He continues to encourage me and my two siblings, every day, to never settle. These words have stuck with me through the years and I have come to realize that each year, each 365 days of gained experience, I adapt a new meaning of the word and what it means to me. Whether it comes to grades, relationships, or even weekend plans, my father drove me to excel in everything I took part in. Sometimes this has its backlash, as I strive for things to be impeccably perfect and they end up falling short of how I saw them unveiling. I’ve learned that I need not to apply the “never settle” phrase to things of small nature. I focused my efforts on my education and furthering my knowledge of useful tactics to achieving goals more efficiently and with better outcomes. So, if the beach trip with my friends doesn’t turn out the way I expected because someone took too long getting ready, I can take a breath and accept the fault. But on the other hand, I have found the man of my dreams, my passion in the creative industry and my love for writing and designing. These are things I am able to apply “never settle” to, and things that prove it is a great motivator.

Still holding out for a dog though…. haven’t found the perfect one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

